And Now, For Something Completely Different

So I’m going to break from blogging about politics since I want to capture this somehow and I’ve debated where to do it, since I have another blog that it would fit, but I decided since this one is linked to Twitter, and I tweet more than anything, I’d put it here.

This month I’m doing two very strange, but very interesting things.

First, I’m doing a “30 Day Challenge” through my yoga studio – a challenge to practice every day in some form for 30 days, which is kind of cool, but along with that, I got enticed to try something else – for this month as well, I’m doing a “cleanse”. What the hell does that mean? Well, for 21 days, I’m going to try my damnedest to eliminate caffeine, alcohol, gluten, and animal products of all sorts from my diet. That’s quite a jump for me, for the most part. I’ve had some “quasi-vegetarian” experience before, but that was more out of the necessity of the environment I was in at the time than any sort of conviction… and in truth, this is no more out of conviction other than it’s something of a pride thing, and frankly, I’m intrigued to see how it goes. I’m going to have to basically be directly involved in every meal I eat more than I’m used to, for a start, and there’s a lot of learning that’s going into that, to figure out how to cook without a lot of things I’m used to taking for granted.

I got through the first day, though, and that’s a decent start. And I’ll probably try to add at least some reflections on it as I go along.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

