How I came to realize that I’m an atheist.

Really, actually, that’s not technically correct – I’m not totally devoid of religious ideas. I’m actually more accurately an adeist – I don’t believe in the existence of any sort of supernatural supreme being, I don’t believe in the idea of organized religion. That said, I find many of the ideals of Buddhism to be quite to my liking – not because they require any specific belief, but because they make sense. The Buddha – Siddhartha Gautama, a mortal man, is reputed to have described it thusly: “Do not believe in anything simply because you have heard it [or because it has been] handed down for many generations [or] because it is found written in your religious books [or] merely on the authority of your teachers and elders. But after observation and analysis, when you find that anything agrees with reason, and is conducive to the good and benefit of one and all, accept it and live up to it”.

Buddhism passes that test – or at least, to me, its precepts do. I don’t believe in reincarnation, permanence, or karma, but I do believe in the concept of the Four Noble Truths, because they are logical, reasonable, and don’t require any manner of faith. They solely require a bit of thought.

2 comments so far

    • warriorbanker on

      Thanks for the link. I’ll have to just respectfully disagree.


Leave a Reply

